Show me the Money!!

Leave a comment

December 4, 2012 by cieramilo

Hey y’all. So let me tell you a little somethin’. Atlanta Corporate Fight Night is an awesome black tie, black eye (I just love that!) event. Terri “The Boss” Moss puts on an amazing show to introduce boring ol’ professionals into the exciting and demanding world of Boxing. We train like real boxers because we ARE real boxers (by all intents and purposes), and we seek sponsorship like real boxers. See, I don’t know if you know this, but the beautiful sport of boxing is not as lucrative as say….football. So individual athletes must find their own events, their own sponsors, their own money to put in to a match….unless you’re pro, and then I have no idea how it works…sorry. In any case, I kind of like this gritty, do-it-yourself amateur boxing culture.

I like it until it means asking folks for money. I know, I know, I’ve been doing this fundraising thing for a long time. I worked in ministry, tried to be a missionary…ahem “worker”, and now I work for a nonprofit which is partially focused on raising funds for other organizations. But this time it’s different. I’m not asking people to support my livelihood for the sake of our shared spiritual beliefs. I’m not asking people to stand behind a cause for community-wide improvement. All of that is easy, to be honest. I’m asking people to purchase tickets, tables, and advertising….for the sake of boxing. Granted, if I come out the better fighter, a portion of the sponsorship raised will go to the charity of my choosing (that’s the pull with ACFN – it’s ultimately a bout for charity), and my charity happens to be the very organization I work for (United Way of Coastal Georgia, if you didn’t know) so I know the funds are going to a worthy cause. But still – this is the hardest round of asks I’ve ever gone through.

So far I’ve raised….$50. I know how this works though. People will say they’ll sponsor/support/buy tickets for about 4-5 weeks, then 60% of them will actually do it days before the deadline. But, if I don’t get to my $5000 goal, my match may be cancelled! So, to all of my wonderful friends who are thinking about buying a ticket to the match to sponsor me: The Deadline is December 29th. I’d love to see you ringside, but those seats are going fast!! For folks interested in Advertising at the event at all, I would recommend committing to a deposit before Christmas so we can ensure that we have all the logos, slogans, announcements, etc prepared for the event before the final push of sponsors makes communication with the event promoters a little more difficult.

In the end, sponsorship for the Ciera Loftin v Dena Burnette fight allows two young professionals to duke it out in their first (of hopefully many) amateur boxing match; gives you, the sponsor, a fun and glamorous evening…watching CPAs, Lawyers, and Accountants beat each other up (I mean c’mon. That’s fun!); and, finally, supports United Way of Coastal Georgia! So go to the Sponsorship tab at the top to learn all the details!

 

And Thank You!!! Thank you very much for your support!

Leave a Reply

Countdown to Fight Night

Atlanta Corporate Fight NightJanuary 24th, 2012

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,063 other followers

